While I Really Want an Effing Milk Shake…

I spoke earlier in my post about the 30 day ab challenge I am doing (Skinny Ms‘ <— click for the deets) and also mentioned that I was going to do the Ultimate Reset, right?  I decided I needed to do it to get back on the diet horse because, well, I was really sucking ass in that department for a while. Excuse my French. I had met a few people at Summit who had done it and all had raving reviews as well as some pretty impressive fat loss so, ya know.  I thought it was a good way to recommit food wise – that for me is way harder than working out.


Here’s what it is, so you’re not scratching your head thinking ‘wtf is she talking about?’. It’s a 21 day long cleanse, though not a fasting cleanse.  You eat a lot.  Quite a lot.  Of clean as it gets food.  You do start off eating some meat and dairy, but you end up totally vegan.  You take a series of different supplements that help your body detox gently along with nudging your body’s pH over to alkaline, basically – you’re less likely to get any nasty ish like cancer later on.  It can also lower some inflammation in the body you might be thinking is fat.  There’s also a liquid oxygen supplement which is kind of a trip if you ever drop some on your tongue… A couple other ones as well.  Anyway, you take these supplements on a daily schedule that varies weekly.  Each week is a different phase of the cleanse – you get your body ready to detox the first week, you detox the second, and then you get your body back to working order and better than ever (so they say – we’ll see when we get there!) on the third week.  Still with me?  Did anyone start snoozing? No? Still here?  Sweet. Thanks guys!


You also drink a crazy amount of water.  Basically, 1 oz for every 2 lb of body fat.  I’m drinking about 70 oz of water a day.   My toilet and my butt are really bonding.  


I’m definitely eating more vegetables than I have ever eaten in my life and starting to really appreciate the difference between in season fruits/veggies and out of season.  Seriously, when they’re in season, they taste amazingly better!  Like, I like eating them, it’s my favorite part of the meals.  WTF happened there?  



Now – before I start posting some pics of what I’ve been eating (and some recipes I’m giving ya here but.. only a few!) I just want to mention that I am not following the directions on the Reset to a tee – I cannot not exercise.  I just can’t get my mind around that anymore and I am having every other day as a rest day and I have taken it down to pretty darn low intensity (like yoga and core work) I am still doing the resistance days of P90X2 and I still am leading Turbo on Thursday nights.  I have to do this in a way that lets me stick with it, and I won’t stick with it if I don’t get myself to a point mentally where I can live my life and not kill my family.  

One of those things that I’m doing to sort of make it fit to my life is picking a few meals out of the meal schedule and repeating them a few times a week.  I’m also prepping them all on Sunday and storing them in the fridge – then I just have to pull out a zip lock and stick the stuff in the oven or whatevs.  


Yeah, I took a pic of the inside of my fridge.  I don’t know why I thought that would be interesting, but there you have it – the inside of my fridge.  

Back on the train of thought before it leaves me at the wrong stop, another way I’ve been tweaking the Reset to fit my lifestyle is by switching up the recipes a little bit.  For example, to make almond butter on an apple a little more interesting, I sprinkled some cinnamon on top and I doubled the snack because I had worked out and didn’t want to be over the top hungry.

I switched up the black bean and brown rice meal with grilled onions, red peppers and zucchini and left out the corn tortilla because my husband was really not digging on the kale and this way, we were all happy and able to eat dinner and enjoy it without stuffing it down our throats so we don’t have to taste it.

I made this family sized so I tweaked the serving sizes.  This is what I came up with (and this can feed 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 kids)

1 can black beans

1 cup brown rice (we like brown basmati from Trader Joes)
1/2 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp coriander
1 tsp Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
Himalayan salt to taste (they have this at Trader Joes!)
1 tbsp chopped cilantro
1 mediumish squirt of a lime

Cook the rice in the background – 2 cup water to 1 cup rice.  While the rice is a’cookin’, in a medium saucepan combine the black beans, olive oil, chili powder, cumin, coriander, Bragg’s and salt.  For what I did, go a little heavy on the seasonings because as soon as the rice was done, I added the rice to the pot of beans and mixed it in so the rice soaked up the flavor.  Then I added in the cilantro and lime juice once all mixed – those 2 are my little personal additions.  Serve up the plates with some grilled fajita veggies, guacamole and salsa and it’s the bomb diggity!

Ultimately, even though I’m not exactly sticking to the plan, my body is definitely feeling better and it is nice to see the scale going down.  I’ll keep updating as the Reset progresses.  On Day 7, I am down 6 lb.  Most of that I’m sure is water and toxic goo that’s been in my body that I’ve definitely been feeling.  Tomorrow starts detox and I’m a little nervous!

Also – if you want to try the Ultimate Reset, click right HERE!
Leave a Reply

